The First LS 400 Engine

Two words—champagne glasses. The reason they didn’t break in Lexus’ now iconic 1989 TV ad is because Lexus engineers had created something never before seen: a production engine so meticulously crafted that 15 stacked glasses, filled to the brim with champagne, not only didn’t topple as the speedometer reached 140 mph—they didn’t spill a drop. And this was just the beginning.


Self-Repairing Paint

When the 2010 Lexus LS arrived, so did its approach to exterior body paint. Rather than make the vehicle’s paint coating harder to protect against light dings and scratches, Lexus engineers went the other way—they made it softer and more elastic at the molecular level. The result: paint that can actually spring back to its original shape and gloss when nicked.

A car that can stop by itself (from speeds below 24 miles per hour)

This is a recent one. As part of its capabilities, this newly available feature in the latest Advanced Pre-Collision System (APCS)[1] is designed to bring the 2013 LS to a stop at speeds below 24 miles per hour.

Remote Touch Interface

Adding computer-mouse dynamics to an automobile is an idea so simple and intuitive, we’re sure engineers working for other premium automakers were kicking themselves for not thinking of it first. But the fact remains: Lexus came up with the idea—a mouse-like device that controls several functions in the audio, navigation, and climate systems—because of its driver-centric design focus.


Carbon Fiber

There are umpteen reasons why the Lexus LFA set a record for the quickest wet test lap ever recorded on the Top Gear test track, and its carbon fiber chassis tops the list. The material’s diamond toughness but lighter weight make its body shell extremely rigid without a loss of strength. That means the car can move faster, turn quicker, and operate more efficiently—and break a few records in the process.


Shiatsu Massage/Reclining Ottoman Seat

Okay, these are actually two features, but they’ve continued to go hand in hand ever since Lexus combined them in an optional Executive-Class Seating package back in 2007. They’ve been a hard combo to improve upon—until the 2013 LS package came out with a Blu-ray disc player for watching movies. While leaning back and getting a massage.

Lexus Hybrid Drive

A few years ago, when we interviewed Lexus Hybrid Drive boss Shinichi Abe, we were initially surprised to discover that he was a bit nervous about Lexus’ decision to move forward with hybrid technology in the early 2000s. But then it made sense. After all, at stake was the opportunity to help change the auto industry forever by creating a luxury car with a hybrid powertrain. And that’s exactly what Abe and Lexus did.


Wide-view Front and Side Monitor

Five years ago, if somebody told you a car would come out that could help you see around corners, you’d likely laugh, shake your head, and look for saner conversations. People still couldn’t believe it when Lexus introduced this optional system on the LX 570. A quick reminder on how it works: When the vehicle approaches an intersection where side visibility is reduced, a front-grille camera—when activated—captures a broad view of the forward-peripheral surroundings, which the system shows on the navigation screen.


Crawl Control

Speaking of amazing Lexus SUV technologies, this one literally took the cruise control concept to a new level. When activated at slow speeds, the optional Crawl Control allows the driver to take the foot off the pedals and just steer while the vehicle smoothly climbs its way up uneven ground.


The Lexus IS C roof

Finally, let’s think of some amazingly fast things for a moment. Michael Phelps. The speed of light. Felix Baumgartner’s record-breaking skydive in October. And, of course, the Lexus IS C’s roof, which retracts in a mere 20 seconds—proving that even convertible technology isn’t immune from Lexus engineers’ ability to make things faster, better, and more graceful.


SEE MORE, HEAR MORE, SHARE MORE

CHECK OUT OUR SOCIAL PAGES

GET EXCLUSIVE NEWS, VIDEOS AND PICTURES – FOLLOW US HERE.

اول محرك ال اس 400

كلمتان – كؤوس الشمبانيا . ان سبب عدم قدرتهم على التغلب على اعلان لكزس التلفزيوني المتميز في العام 1989 هو ان مهندسين لكزس قاموا بصناعة شيء لم يرى احد مثله من قبل : محرك مصنوع بحرفية عالية لدرجة ان 15 كوبا مكدسا و مملوء بالشمبانيا حتى الحافة لم تسقط عند وصول عداد السرعة الى 140 ميل/ساعة فقط – بل و لم تسكب منها أي قطرة . و كانت هذه هي البداية فحسب .


صبغ ذاتي الترميم

حين وصلت لكزس ال اس 2010 وصل معها مفهومها لصبغ الهيكل الخارجي للسيارة . فبدلا من جعل طبقة صبغ السيارة اكثر سماكة لحمايتها من الضربات و الخدوش الخفيفة ، تبنى مهندسين لكزس الاتجاه الاخر – حيث قاموا بجعلها انعم و اكثر مرونة على المستوى الجزيئي . و كانت النتيجة : اصباغ بامكانها فعليا العودة الى شكلها الطبيعي و اللمعان بعد الاحتكاك .

سيارة بامكانها الوقوف بنفسها (عند السرعات اقل من 24 ميل في الساعة)

هذه ميزة حديثة كجزء من قدراتها ، هذه الميزة الجديدة المتوفرة في احدث نظام ما قبل الاصطدام المتقدم مصممة لجعل سيارة ال اس 2013 تتوقف عند السرعات اقل من 24 ميل في الساعة .

الاتصال عن بعد

اضافة ديناميكيات فارة الكمبيوتر الى سيارة هي فكرة بسيطة و بديهية . نحن متاكدون من ان المهندسين العاملين لدى صناع السيارات الاخرين كانوا يندبون حظهم لعدم التفكير في ذلك اولا . و لكن الحقيقة تظل بان : لكزس توصلت الى الفكرة – اداة تشبه الفأرة تتحكم بعدة وظائف في انظمة الصوت ، الملاحة و الطقس – و ذلك بسبب التركيز في تصميمها على السائق . في الوضعية الرياضية / الرياضية اس او الرياضية + اس تتغير الاضاءة الى اللون الاحمر النابض بالحياة .


الياف الكربون

هناك اسباب لا تعد و لا تحصى وراء تسجيل لكزس ال اف ايه رقما قياسيا في اختبار اسرع دورة رطبة تم تسجيله في اختبار حلبة توب غير ، و الشاصي المصنوع من الياف الكربون يتراس قائمة تلك الاسباب . قسوة المادة التي تشبه الالماس و لكنها في نفس الوقت اخف وزنا منه تجعل من الهيكل صلبا جدا دون فقدانه للقوة . و هذا يعني ان السيارة بإمكانها التحرك أسرع و الالتفاف أسرع و العمل بفعالية اكبر – و تحطيم بضعة ارقام قياسية خلال ذلك .


تدليك شياتسو / مقعد الاستلقاء

حسنا ، في الحقيقة هما خاصيتان ، و لكنهما تابعتا العمل جنبا إلى جنب منذ ان قامت لكزس بدمجهما في حزمة مقاعد الفئة التنفيذية في العام 2007 . و قد كانا مزيجا يصعب تطويره – حتى ظهرت حزمة 2013 ال اس مع لاعبة اقراص بلو- راي لمشاهدة الأفلام في حين الاستلقاء الى الوراء و الحصول على مساج .

لكزس الهجينة

منذ بضعة سنوات ، حين قمنا بمقابلة رئيس لكزس الهجينة ، سينشي ابي ، كنا بداية مصدومين لاكتشاف انه كان قلقا بعض الشيء تجاه قرار لكزس بالمضي قدما في التكنولوجيا الهجينة في اوائل العام 2000 . و لكن حينها بدا الامر منطقيا . ففي النهاية كانت فرصة المساعدة في تغيير صناعة السيارات الى الابد على المحك و ذلك من خلال صناعة سيارة فخمة ذات محرك هجين . و ذلك هو تماما ما فعله ابي و لكزس .


رؤية امامية واسعة و مراقبة الجوانب

لو اخبرك احدهم منذ خمس سنوات ان سيارة بامكانها مساعدتك في رؤية ما حول الزوايا ، كنت على الاغلب ستضحك و تهز راسك و تبحث عن محادثات اكثر عقلانية . لم يتمكن الناس من تصديق ذلك حتى حين قامت لكزس بتقديم هذا النظام المثالي على سيارة ال اكس 570 . تذكير سريع لكيفية عمل النظام : حين تقترب المركبة من تقاطع طريق حيث تقل الرؤية الجانبية ، فان الكاميرا الامامية – حين تعمل – تقوم بالتقاط رؤية واسعة للمناطق الامامية و الجانبية المحيطة بالسيارة ، و التي يظهرها النظام على شاشة الملاحة .


التحكم بالزحف

بالتحدث عن تكنولوجيا سيارات الدفع الرباعي من لكزس ، هذه الخاصية قامت حرفيا بنقل مفهوم التحكم بالملاحة الى مستوى جديد . حين يتم تفعيلها عند السرعات البطيئة حيث يقوم نظام التحكم بالزحف بالسماح للسائق برفع قدمه عن الدواسات و التحكم بالمقود فقط بينما تشق السيارة طريقها بسلاسة على الارض غير الممهدة .


سقف لكزس أي اس سي

ختاما ، دعونا نفكر لحظة ببعض اسرع الاشياء الرائعة . مايكل فيلبس ، سرعة الضوء . محطم رقم فيليكس بومغارتنرز القياسي للقفز بالمظلات في اكتوبر . و بالطبع سقف لكزس أي اس سي ، الذي ينكمش في 20 ثانية فقط – ليثبت ان تكنولوجيا السيارات المكشوفة ليست محصنة امام قدرة مهندسين لكزس في جعل الاشياء اسرع و افضل و اكثر رشاقة .


إطلع على المزيد .. إسمع المزيد .. إنشر المزيد ..

إطلع على صفحات التواصل الإجتماعي

احصل على أخبار وفيديوهات وصور حصرية - تابعنا هنا.